An Introduction to our Guest Writer…

This week, THWBlog carries on its guest writer series with a piece from undergraduate and very good friend of mine, James Stopa-Hunt. A very opinionated man, writing about a controversial topic suggests this article certainly won’t be one to miss! Below is James’ introduction to our readers, as well as providing details through which you can contact him with any queries about his upcoming article. Alternatively, you can contact him through the blog and on Facebook. I hope you’re all looking forward to the article as much as I am!

My name is James Stopa-Hunt. I’m about to enter my second year studying Politics with East European Studies at UCL’s School of Slavonic and East European Studies. My interests, however, are wider than just this region – including philosophy of knowledge, ethics, strategy, conflict, and what it means to be a rational actor. In the article I have been invited to write, I intend to explore what happens when rights conflict, in the context of the abortion debate. I hope to examine at what point we can say that rights should begin to apply, whether certain rights should trump others and how we can assess this, and finally if highly our rights should ever yield to practical considerations.

I am reachable at james.stopa-hunt.14@ucl.ac.uk and will respond to any questions about what I write or to anyone who would like to discuss any of the other topics mentioned above, but I warn you that I may not do so in a timely manner.

Leave a Reply

